To purchase a Marriage License in New York State

e Both parties must come into the Clerk’s Office to apply

e You must bring an original Birth Certificate with the seal

e You must bring a Current Driver’s License

e You must bring any Divorce decree’s if applicable

e The fee is $40.00 to purchase a Marriage License

e To shorten the process time please fill out the below documents and
bring with you

There is a 24-hour waiting period from the exact time that the license was issued.
The license is valid for 60 days, beginning the day after it is issued.
The License is good for Ceremonies held in New York State ONLY

You will by law need at least 1 witness to sign the application at the time of the
ceremony

**IMPORTANT**
The place where you choose to apply for a Marriage License is the place you will need to
go to in the future for any copies you may need. We strongly encourage you file the
application in the Municipality in which you reside therefore you will remember in the
future where to obtain copies of your certificate.

A Transcript Certificate requires a certified request by one of the parties and a fee of
$10.00. Please contact our office if you obtained your certificate at our West Elmira
Office and need to obtain a copy.



Application for Certification of Marriage in New York State
PRINT CLEARLY AND HAVE EACH PARTY FILL A SEPARATE FORM OUT

Full Name

Birth Name if different

Surname after Marriage

Social Security # Phone Number

Full address

County, Circle one CITY TOWN VILLAGE
Is the residence within the City limits or an Incorporated Village? YES NO (Circle one)
Age Birthdate City/State of Birth

Occupation Industry

Father’s Full name on Birth Certificate
Country of Birth

Mother’s Full name on Birth Certificate
Country of Birth

Number of this marriage Any former spouse(s) living YES  NO
Previous marriages ended in Divorce Annulment Death
Last marriage ended in Divorce Annulment Death Date

If previously Divorced or Annulled please provide the following information

Date of Decree Place Issued Against Whom
(Month, Day. Year) City/County, State) (Defendant)
1st self  Spouse
2nd self  Spouse
3rd self  Spouse

Address where Certificate of Marriage should be mailed

Signature Date




